when in Rome

If  you’ve read my travel wishlist for this year you’ll know that I was planning to take my boyfriend J to Rome for his birthday. Well it happened, and we returned yesterday after spending a weekend there. I booked the whole thing and surprised him with a postcard on the 20th, a day before his birthday as we were flying out in the early hours of that morning; before spending three wonderful days there.

I think I’m going to do another post regarding my favourite little hot spots in Rome, but for now I’ll just let you know what we got up to.

Day 1: After settling in to our little Air BnB apartment we headed for the Metro to take us to the Colosseum. We probably could have walked there but I think we were too eager to get going. I had already booked our tickets which was definitely an advantage, we didn’t have to stand in the longer queues. Thankfully, it didn’t take us long to get inside, it truly is beautiful. We spent an hour walking around the ruins and taking lots of photographs before heading to Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum. We also saw the Arch of Constantine and went to Capitoline Hill to see the Piazza del Campidoglio; also naturally beautiful. History is definitely not one of my strongest nor favourite topics, I was just enjoying taking photographs and appreciating what was going on around me. J on the other hand is really into it all so had an amazing time reading about every aspect and reciting his knowledge to me. That’s when I knew I’d made the right decision to take him there.

Later on in the afternoon we head to the Trevi Fountain which again, was beautiful. We made our wishes, took more pictures, and went to a little cafe to get pizza and some gelato, an absolute must when in Rome. We both had pistachio and hazelnut, both were incredible. It was then that I began to regret my footwear choice after bringing only one pair of sandals for the trip; yes, they looked great but I ended up limping back to our apartment, 18km we walked.

Day 2: Up bright an early before heading to the Vatican City. Still wearing my sandals, we walked, as our apartment was situated only 5 minutes away. The museums are incredible, even I found it interesting which says a lot! We also went inside the Sistine Chapel and saw St Peter’s Basilica before spending time in St Peter’s Square. Momentarily, it was time for more gelato, profiterole and banana for me, mango and snickers for J; odd choice but delicious. We then walked along the River Tiber to see Castel ‘Sant’Angelo before crossing it to Campo de Fiori (a flower market).

In the afternoon, we stopped for an amazing lunch; bruschetta and pizza, very Italian I know. We then walked to the Pantheon, Trevi fountain (again) and the Spanish steps before heading back to our apartment for a short, late, afternoon nap. By this point, we had seen everything we had planned to see on our trip and were planning on going out in the evening. Despite not wanting to waste the day away, we were both absolutely shattered and our feet needed well deserved rest.

We were up and out the door not long into the evening, it was still bright and sunny outside. We walked around our favourite spots and went for a nice meal (and some more gelato) to round of the trip. It was almost 20km that we walked on the second day but we had the most amazing time.

Day 3: Unfortunately, we had to travel home so we spent the morning packing up our things and again, walking around to take it all in. Rome truly is beautiful and whilst you have the craziness of the tourism, it is somewhat still peaceful. We grabbed a coffee, a croissant and some more pizza (yes, for breakfast) and head to the airport.

I love travelling to new destinations with J, we always have so much fun. I knew Rome was going to be more of his thing than mine, after all it was for his birthday, but I did find myself enjoying it a lot more than I originally thought. I would definitely go back to Rome or another Italian city. So, if you’re thinking about going, definitely go, even if it is just for the gelato.

Lots of Love, x

 

One thought on “when in Rome

Leave a Reply

