recipe: ginger and cinnamon banoffee pie

I’m doing absolutely anything to get away from writing my final essays right now; bad I know, but in some ways also good as I get to build up my blog. I’ve been wanting to make a banoffee pie for a while now, I used to make them all the time when I was younger and loved to bake. And it’s not that I don’t love baking now, I’m a far better baker than I am cook, it’s just taken me a while to find the time to do it. But there is no time like the present.

I’ve also wanted to eat a banoffee pie for a while now, and whilst I was cooking dinner for this evening I thought I’d give it a go, but instead of the original recipe I thought I’d spice it up a bit (literally!). It turned out really well and it is delicious so I am going to share the recipe with you.

For the base
250g ginger biscuits, crushed
100g butter, melted

For the caramel
100g butter
100g dark brown soft sugar
379g can of carnation condensed milk

For the topping
300ml double cream, whipped
4 bananas, sliced
2tsp cinnamon
grated chocolate

Start by simply crushing the biscuits and adding the melted butter. Mix these ingredients together and press into the base and sides of your dish, before chilling in the fridge for 10 minutes.

Whilst chilling, put the butter and dark brown soft sugar into a pan and stir continuously on a low heat until the sugar has dissolved. Add the condensed milk and bring to a rapid boil for about a minute, still stirring at all times; this creates a thick caramel. Take the base out of the fridge and spread the caramel before cooling and chilling for about an hour.

Slice the bananas and whip the cream whilst waiting for the caramel to set. When ready, place half of the bananas onto the caramel and the other half into the whipping cream. I also added 2tsp of cinnamon into the cream. I added a little ginger too just to accentuate the flavours. If you don’t like cinnamon or ginger, you can adapt the recipe by adding nothing into the cream and replacing ginger biscuits with digestives.

Finally, spoon the cream over the base and top with grated chocolate and another sprinkle of cinnamon. Enjoy!

Lots of Love, x

Leave a Reply

